Shripad Yesso Naik

Shripad Yesso Naik is an Indian politician. He is the Member of Parliament from North Goa constituency representing the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Early Life:
Shripad Naik took birth on saturday 4 October 1952 at Adpai village, North Goa District, to Late shri Yesso Bhikari Naik and Late Smt Jayshri Yesso Naik.

Shripad Naik married to smt. Vijaya Shripad Naik on thursday May 3 1984.

Educational Qualification:
B.A in Bombay university, Mumbai and Goa University, Pune.

Shripad Naik being a business person has sown interest in politics and started his political career in year 1984. Shripad Naik has also has got special interest in Travelling, Sports and Clubs. He is a state player in  Kabadi, Volleyball and he has won Swimming championships, Southern State Championship, Gold Medalist in 400 mtrs race, Silver medal in shooting.

He visited various countries like : Brazil, France, Geneva, Switzerland ,Thailand, U.K., U.S.A., Africa, Japan, Mauritius etc.

Other Information:

Founder General Secretary :

  1. Sai Prathan Mandir Trust Ribandar, Goa;
  2. (ii) Akhil Bhartiya Vidharthi Parishad; Member, (i) Managing Committee of Educational Insitutions; such as (i) Mandovi Education Society, Betim; (ii) Old Goa Education Society, Old Goa;
  3. Prabodhan Education Society, Porvorm Goa; and

Adpai Yuvak Sangh; Member (i) Central Advisory Board of Archaeology; and

(ii) National

Shipping Board, 2004 onwards

Social & Culture Activities:

President of Vidyarthi Nidhi, Goa;

Chairman for

(i) Shikshan Prasarak Sangh, Dhurbat;

(ii) Sharda English High School, Durbhat, Ponda, Goa;

(iii) Sumangal Urban Credit Cooperative Society, Durbhat, Ponda, Goa

(iv) Ratnagiri Education Society-Ratnagiri, Maharashtra. Chairman, Goa Rifle Association-Goa and President Goa Olympic Association – Goa.


Shripad Yesso Naik, having interest in the field of politics, serves the country as a representative of Bharathiya Janatha Party ( BJP ), He started his political career in Year of  1984 till date.

Political positions held:

1984-93 Sarpanch, Village Panchayat, Durbhat (two terms)

1988-90 General Secretary, B.J.P. Goa Pradesh

1988-2000 and 2004 onwards Member, National Executive, B.J.P.

1990-92 President, Bharatiya Janata Party, Goa

1992-96 Re-elected as President, BJP, Goa State

1994-99 – Member, Goa Legislative Assembly from Madkai

Constituency in South Goa

  • Member, Public Accounts Committee, Goa Legislative


  • Leader, BJP Legislative Party
  • Member, Committee on Delegated Legislation, Goa

Legislative Assembly

1999 Elected Member of Parliament from North Goa

1999- 2000 Member, Committee on Transport and Tourism, Member, Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House, Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Rural Development

2000 – 2001 Union Minister of State, Agriculture & Co-operation

2001 – 2002 Union Minister of State for Ports & Shipping

2002 – 2003 Union Minister of State, Civil Aviation

May,2003 -Sept. Union Minister of State, Road Transport & Highways

Sep. 2003 – 2004 Union Minister of State, Finance (Revenue)

2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 2nd term), Member, Committee on Papers Lay on the Table, Member, Committee on Urban Development, Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism

2006-009 Re-elected President BJP-Goa State

2007-2009 Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS),

2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (3rd term), Member, Committee on Energy , Member, Committee on MPLADS, Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of Urban Poverty Alleviation

May,2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (4th Term Member)

May 2014- Nov.,2014 Sworn in as Union Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism & Culture

November, 2014 Union Minister of State (I/C) for AYUSH & Health F.W.